Ian Bach

Viewing conflicts through the eye of Counterinsurgency COIN – Since 2007

Iraq Update September 13, 2007

I am still reading and reviewing all the data from various sources. Of course I am 100% behind the recommendation of General Petraeus. I just received an Email from Michael Yon Online. I like what Michael has to say and I respect his opinions. I hope you will read his link and spread the word.

By M. Yon

Greetings:

Successes are occurring, and accruing, in Iraq. Al Qaeda is still a powerful enemy, but they cannot be happy with their Iraqi franchise this summer.

Readers of my dispatches have gotten first hand reports of the kinds of positive indicators that General David Petraeus described in his progress report.

The atmosphere is changing in Iraq and I’ve been posting dispatches and videos that illustrate just how profound this change is in some cases.

I was the first to say Iraq was in civil war, and many readers were angry to hear me say it. Well, I’ll be the first to say that I predict some sort of milestone for the war in Iraq will occur early in the next year. It’s dangerous to predict like this, but something fundamental has changed in Iraq.

There is one important qualifier: this will only happen if General David Petraeus is supported by our elected officials to implement his proposed plan, without meddling from those same elected officials. Oversight and accountability are not the same thing as backseat driving after siphoning out half of the gas tank.

Please read: Hunting Al Qaeda

v/r
Michael

I still say Mr. Yon is incorrect in calling it a civil war in Iraq. I see the sectarian violence as being more like gang wars. Many Iraqis I have spoken to agree that it is more like gang wars. The people leading these militant groups use terror to force people to bend to their wills in a struggle for local or regional power. Many of the militant groups have learned that they were once the hunters, they are now the hunted. I look at how many militant groups are now focused on getting al-Qaeda out of Iraq and the fact that groups (who up to 6 months ago were killing American Soldiers), are now working with the coalition forces and the Iraqi Army to kick al-Qaeda out of Iraq. One of the biggest changes is how much different our military operates and now are very hands on in getting local government working again in areas that we clear of terrorists. To get the food, water and local government working in areas that had been lawless and more like the Wild West than modern cities. Let me make one thing very clear. The backward views and life style of al Qaeda does not sit well with the Iraqi citizens. They have seen the brutality of al Qaeda and the split from al Qaeda by many militant groups is a clear sign that Iraqis want to decide their future and that they do not want to be a pawn of al Qaeda or Iran.

As security of the nation becomes more stable it will enable the good kind silent man to stand up and let his voice be heard without fear of reprisal. Only then will we see the National government change in a productive manner. One thing the Democrats and Liberals seem to forget is the words of wisdom by people such as Winston Churchill and Lawrence of Arabia. Both talked extensively about the slow pace of change within the Muslim world. [note – I understand that these 2 people fought in wars on Muslim lands. I address this further in comments]

If we do not stand fast and continue to help Iraq repair and mend it will sink back into the hands of terrorists and anarchists. If we pulled out now the region would fall into the grip of war and we will embolden our enemies, and the enemies of Iraq���s citizens.

One thing most people do not think of when they think of War is that often times we make new advances in the medical field, government, police tactics, and new military tactics. The war in Iraq has ousted Saddam Hussein from power, seen our military learn and adapt more in the past decade, than in the previous century. Our military has changed so much the way we wage war that it will take at least another decade before the changes reach every nook and cranny of our military. Our military training institutions now look at applying the lessons learned and to look for additional methods and areas to improve. Learning, adapting, and implementing change is now seen as a necessity by our military. The Medical Field has made extensive changes in how we treat head wombs and brain injuries. Another area of improvement in the medical field has been the treatment of people who suffer pain. Battle fatigue and Post traumatic stress has also made improvements. Many of the medical improvements will take time till the changes affect our civilian sector and doctors. Improvements in dealing with gangs are something that we should see take roots in our police forces within the next decade. Our military for the first time now has embraced the ideals that re-establishment of local government is of prime importance and is a necessity. [more in comments]

I will be linking the actual documents/reports by General Petraeus and others. One thing I have seen a lot on YouTube is democrats asking questions to Gen. Petraeus and then they don���t show his response. Shame on them.

In The News
http://www.army.mil/-links/2007/08/17/4477-gen-petraeus-interview/

The Strength Within: One NCO’s Experience with Suicide and PTSD

In the face of rising suicide rates among Soldiers, the Army is making a renewed effort to help Soldiers at risk and educate Soldiers and leaders about the signs to look for in their battle buddies

In the News

About Ian Bach

Independent Online Terrorist Hunter I teach people how to hunt down and shut down the Bad guys web sites. I also teach about the various countries and cultures. Like most cases it is a small group of bsd eggs that in this case call themselves Muslims but in actual fact they are more like how KKK call themselves ",True Christisians". But in both cases / groups they preach a perverted and twisted view a religion. In the case of ISIS, all Qaeda, al Nusra, and the rest of the terrorists who claim to be true Muslims most of these groups follow the Wahhabi teachings. They are almost all Sunni and their goal is global domination. Yet they must be very bad at math and history. Since most Muslims prefer a separation of church and state and also mist are against Shari's Law. Esp the twisted and overly exaggerated form of Sharia Law that the Wahhabi and other bad guys use. I have studied terrorism, insurgencies, and the best tried and proven methods that work to fight terrorism. My Blogs have many links and articles that can show you who are the best and most knowledgeable people in the fields or counterinsurgency and counter terrorism. When I find great practitioner's I always listen to them to find out who they learned from and who they respect and admire. Thus I am always learning new stuff from the best and most successful in their fields of knoeledge. I strive to be an open and ethical source of information, I have met many awesome, kind, caring, and loving wonderful people many who I am close friends with now from Afghanistan, Iraq, Syria, Turkey, Iran, and many from S.E. Asia which also has a high percent of their populations that are Muslim.We must always strive to be aware people are not any one particular religion via that's what they chose to be, instead most people are a particular religion because that's what their parents and/or county is. I was raised Catholic but because I became Interested in magic ,(illusion - smoke n mirrors) and science which lead me to study many religions, and I would call myself an atheist. Yet sometimes when I lose my keys ZI find myself praying "Hail Marys" and a few "Our Fathers" which most always aides me in finding my keys. My belief is that if I just frantically look around for my krys, good luck it takes me for ever. But by saying these prayers it is like s sort of meditation and my mind becomes more calm, which is why it helps my find my keys.

4 comments on “Iraq Update September 13, 2007

  1. Kat ♥
    September 14, 2007

    Twice I have tried to post my comment to this blog, and twice it disappeared!

    I’ve got mixed thoughts about your blog. I do agree with your opinion that Iraq is not fighting a civil war. I also opine that it is a war of gangs made powerful by the lawlessness that is now Iraq.

    I disrespect the “words of wisdom by people such as Winston Churchill and Lawrence of Arabia. Both talked extensively about the slow pace of change within the Muslim world”. The British went to Arabia to conquer and change a nation of people who were very different from themself. WHY did England force THEIR ways of pace and behavior down the throats of the Arabs? Who’s opinion was it that Arabs NEEDED to change? The high-and-mighty Brits?

    Now, moving along to the “improvements” being made in the medical fields of pain management and the treatments of head trauma: If it was MY son who was injured in Iraq and being treated as a guinea pig–test dummy…..I would be livid! Innocent young men and women are being forced to wait long periods of time for psychiatric/psychological care while being main-streamed back into the Veteran’s Medical System. Many have suicided while waiting for help. Many are waiting long periods of time for new arms and legs to be delivered to them. As far as advances in pain management–the VA Medical System has a limited formulary and to receive novel new drug therapy requires the permission of a panel of physicans who “vote” on it during their meetings. Nice bureaucracy~!

    I see NOTHING good coming from this “war” that isn’t a war.

    Like

  2. Retired Army Guy
    September 14, 2007

    Great analogy reference gangs..That seems to fit.Michael Yon also pened a piece that appeared in the National Review refence the Petreus Report.
    And you are right about the drastic change in tactics. TC

    Like

  3. Ian Bach
    September 14, 2007

    A few words to try and clarify what I wrote. In response to comments by Kat

    i am sorry my last post got you upset.

    Let me clear a few things up.

    winston churchil and lawernce of arabia were not politicians when they said that the Muslim world moves at a slow pace. They were fighting for their country and working for stability in the region. What I was trying to point out is we should not rush things (this is in response to democrates that think the iraqi government has not done enough to justify us to stay a little longer till they can get the national politics in order. we need to do things correct so they are lasting changes, that the citizens can agree with.

    2nd medical advances during war times is something that has happened since the dawn of time. the men are not being used as guinee pigs. The one big difference in how we treat brain injury from IEDs is now we cut a piece of their skull out and this allows the brain to swell without causing brain further brain damage. We also remove damaged parts of the brain. let me make this perfectly clear. I would estimate 500-1000 of the men injured in Iraq by IEDs are alive today because of the new methods for brain injurys. I have a close friend who is alive today because of these techniques. He does still have some brain damage but most people would never ever notice it. He has suffered from depression and had thoughts of suicide. Now the kicker he recieved his brain injury not in Iraq but in a SUV car crash. the doctors who worked on him used the new techniques and because of that he lived. He had been in coma for 2 months but he is doing much better now. Like my friend I also almost died (about 5 years ago) I will admit I still have thoughts of suicide. This is common with many near death experience injuries.

    As far as pain management. There is many organizations (not VA) that are fighting the legal battle and a battle of the Minds in the medical industry to bring better pain management to those in severe pain. For me a person who has chronic pain this is a god send. Although it has not yet been embraced by the medical system yet, it will be soon. It may take 5-10 years but patient advocates are working hard to change the mind set amoungst the Medical community.

    there are many more places for help with post traumatic stress disorder. However I do understand the VA moves to slow, yet that is also changing and there are many people working on fixing a system that has been broken for the past 40 years. For anyone with PTS they should seek out veteran groups and private medical that deal with this. One of the best sources for help is groups where they can speak with and talk openly about their traumatic experiences. Keeping these emotions bottled up does often lead to depression, suicide, etc. However, the families and friends of soldiers should be proactive and encourage these men and women to seek out the help. Often times soldiers are reluctant to admit they suffer from PTS. This is a mocho factor that can lead to dire results. Even doctors and nurses are reluctant to admit they need someone to talk with so that they can unburden their heart and mind of the mental trauma that they suffer from. I have friends that have suffered PTS and I have helped them by being someone they could talk to about anything. I also helped one who had PTS very bad get the medical help he needed. He still has problems with depression and fitting into society. But I do have hope that he will get better as time goes on. After WW1 and WW2 the medical community did not offer any real help for PST and it also had a stigma about it back then.

    I am not saying that war is good. Rather I want to point out that often times some good things do occour as a result of war. I am glad Saddam is gone. I am also glad that the medical community and the VA are changing and will change even more to help more people. Think about the number people who will now survive brain injuries from car accidents.

    Like

  4. Ian Bach
    September 14, 2007

    One more note regarding brain injuries. In America more people have died in car accidents in the past century than all the american soldiers killed in War since our decleration of independence from Britian. I think it is safe to say that over the next couple decades the number of people who will now survive brain injuries in car accidents will be well into the tens of thousands.

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment here. Thanks

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2007 by in Uncategorized.
