Ian Bach

Viewing conflicts through the eye of Counterinsurgency COIN – Since 2007

The Worlds Fastest Indian – A Tribute to H.J Munro, a.k.a ‘Burt’ Munro

I recently watched this movie (DVD) and have watched it 4 nights in a row now. I have always been an adrenalin addict who loves going fast. It doesn’t matter if it was a bike, car, skis, etc. I hope you enjoy this information about a colorful character that had a true lust for life….

Burts Bio – (Full Bio Click Here)
I
n 1920 a 21 year old Southlander stood gazing at a brand-new motorcycle in an Invercargill garage. His eyes roved over the neat little V twin engine, the cast alloy primary case, the leaf sprung front fork. His hand lovingly stroked the gleaming red paint and the sparkle of the polished nickel matched that in his eyes. The proprietor was spoken to, a deal was struck, and the young man bought his motorcycle, beginning a partnership which was to last until his death in December 1978. The man was Burt Munro and the bike was an Indian Scout, destined to become the world’s fastest Indian.

Burt, then a grandfather, visited the Bonneville salt flats several times from 1962 onwards. In that year he set a then world record of 178.971 mph with his engine out to 51 cu.in. (85Occ). In 1963 a con-rod broke while he was traveling at an estimated 195mph. In 1966 it was displacing 920cc, when Burt, unhappy with some loss in top speed, completely rebuilt it again.

In 1967, with his engine punched out to 58 cu.in. (950cc) he set a class record of 183.586 mph. To qualify he made a one-way run of 190.07 mph, the fastest ever officially recorded speed on an Indian.

His visits to the salt were not without incident. In issue no. 1 of Motorcycle New Zealand, published in 1973 Burt is quoted as follows:-“At the Salt in 1967 we were going like a bomb. Then she got the wobbles just over half way through the run. To slow her down I sat up. The wind tore my goggles off and the blast forced my eyeballs back into my head – couldn’t see a thing. We were so far off the black line that we missed a steel marker stake by inches. I put her down – a few scratches all round but nothing much else”. At the time Burt was traveling at close to 206 mph!

Movie Trailer:
http://www.worldsfastestindian.com/


One of my favorite lines from the movie is:
“You live more in 5 minutes going flat out on a vehicle like this than most people live in a lifetime” – Burt Munro

Following: by Ian Bach
Here are some of my favorite sayings that explain a little about how I live life.

“The closer to death I get, the more alive I feel.”

“The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don’t know.”

“Never give up.”

“Never stop dreaming.”

“Don’t be afraid to dream big.”

“Pushing the edge of the envelope, helps us to learn who we are and what we are capable of.”

“I can fix anything from a toaster to a jet engine.”

“I may be intelligent, but I am not smart.”

“Friends are easy to find, but seldom last forever. But a soul mate is a rare find, can broaden your perspective, compliment your personality, and bring out the best in you.”

Here is the link to my Article with pictures about rock climbing. “Without ropes”

http://blog.360.yahoo.com/ianbach?tag=climbing

About Ian Bach

Independent Online Terrorist Hunter I teach people how to hunt down and shut down the Bad guys web sites. I also teach about the various countries and cultures. Like most cases it is a small group of bsd eggs that in this case call themselves Muslims but in actual fact they are more like how KKK call themselves ",True Christisians". But in both cases / groups they preach a perverted and twisted view a religion. In the case of ISIS, all Qaeda, al Nusra, and the rest of the terrorists who claim to be true Muslims most of these groups follow the Wahhabi teachings. They are almost all Sunni and their goal is global domination. Yet they must be very bad at math and history. Since most Muslims prefer a separation of church and state and also mist are against Shari's Law. Esp the twisted and overly exaggerated form of Sharia Law that the Wahhabi and other bad guys use. I have studied terrorism, insurgencies, and the best tried and proven methods that work to fight terrorism. My Blogs have many links and articles that can show you who are the best and most knowledgeable people in the fields or counterinsurgency and counter terrorism. When I find great practitioner's I always listen to them to find out who they learned from and who they respect and admire. Thus I am always learning new stuff from the best and most successful in their fields of knoeledge. I strive to be an open and ethical source of information, I have met many awesome, kind, caring, and loving wonderful people many who I am close friends with now from Afghanistan, Iraq, Syria, Turkey, Iran, and many from S.E. Asia which also has a high percent of their populations that are Muslim.We must always strive to be aware people are not any one particular religion via that's what they chose to be, instead most people are a particular religion because that's what their parents and/or county is. I was raised Catholic but because I became Interested in magic ,(illusion - smoke n mirrors) and science which lead me to study many religions, and I would call myself an atheist. Yet sometimes when I lose my keys ZI find myself praying "Hail Marys" and a few "Our Fathers" which most always aides me in finding my keys. My belief is that if I just frantically look around for my krys, good luck it takes me for ever. But by saying these prayers it is like s sort of meditation and my mind becomes more calm, which is why it helps my find my keys.

9 comments on “The Worlds Fastest Indian – A Tribute to H.J Munro, a.k.a ‘Burt’ Munro

  1. Anonymous
    May 19, 2007

    I know nothing about engines. I see a lot of me in those lines too, except that I can not fix anything mechanical…lol.

    Like

  2. Ian Bach
    May 19, 2007

    hehe, thats ok. If you ever need advice on how to fix something feel free to ask. My father taught me since I was… hmm well before I can remember. I always got in trouble when I was a kid because I would take stuff apart to figure out how it worked.

    Like

  3. Ian Bach
    May 19, 2007

    If it is crazy to taste the spice of life, then I guess we are crazy. The Rock you see in my photos is a 5.8 about 50′ boulder, the begining of the climb, the rock actualy isnt stright up it sorta leans back toward you. I wiould say the first 18 feet it is at a 110 degree angle. There is another part or route which is rated 5.13 and it is at an angle of about 140 degre. The highest I have climbed without ropes up a Rated rock face was about 500 feet in a canyon in santa barbara it was loose rock there but at least it was serpentine or a granit like rock. The rock in the photo you saw are sandstone. Sandstone is one of the most dangerous, it is very brittle and can break when you least expect it. Someday I hope to do some climbs in Yosemite, my goal is to get over 1,000 feet without using any ropes or safety equipment.

    Like

  4. Anonymous
    May 20, 2007

    Lol. Thanks Ian, but even if ya told me I would need ya to use the terms “thingamabob”, “doohicky”, and “whatchacallit”..hehe. I’m a climber, and I’m not crazy….my mother did drop me when I was little however. LMAO! I climbed sandstone once myself. I fell, but only 15 ft. from what the others estimated. The highest I have climbed without ropes is about 550ft. I’d love to climb higher without those ropes though. Somehow it feels like a much greater accomplishment. Dang! She might be right….I am crazy. Haha.

    Like

  5. Ian Bach
    May 20, 2007

    Nah not crazy. When I climb without ropes I always stay aware of my thoughts.

    Personally I have met too many people who relied on ropes and were injured when the rope broke. Three of those I met are paraplegics. Climbing ropes are only good for 10-15 falls. But most people use them beyond that. Also a dilemma is what’s considered a fall. This is where the grey line clouds the judgments. The security blanket becomes the noose, and trusting in what we can not control becomes dangerous.

    Climbing without ropes is a rush. You must constantly be aware of what you are thinking (Like the little red train, either you think you can, or you know you can.) and at times you must tell yourself not to think too much. Many times I would get very high up on other rock faces 5.7s maybe as high as 200 feet. But the moment you feel doubt you must stop and position yourself where you felt secure. There you must rest and take a minute to gather your thoughts. You must at times rethink your position. First thought is, “is there a safer route I will feel more comfortable with?” If no safer, or easier route can be found “do I turn back or do I wait and gather my thoughts more.” This is when knowing your limits are important. To push back the edge of the envelope is a rush, but knowing how far you can push the envelope is what makes the journey succeed.

    Like

  6. Ian Bach
    May 20, 2007

    “thingamabobs”, “doohickys”, and “whatchacallits”

    I taught my three sisters and one brother how to fix many things. But originally they had no or little mechanical knowledge. More so they didn’t think they could fix anything. But I am proud to say my brother has surpased me in auto mechanics. My brother is more likely to fix it the right way – whereas I often will fix my own things the fast easy way. Two of my sisters learned a lot about electricity from me, and often times tell me how they fixed something and how proud they are of it. So np ask me questions I enjoy helping. The costs to have someone else fix something for you is terrible, especially auto mechanics. Often times I have friends who ask me what I think may be wrong with their car. I ask them a few questions and normally can give them the best advice to save them a lot of money even if they take it to a mechanic. A lot of times mechanics will do unnessary work just to make an easy buck.

    Funny thing is I got kicked out of High School for failing English and ditching too often to go surfing and traveling.

    Like

  7. Ian Bach
    June 6, 2007

    FROM ANON – Well, now.. I thought you were going to show some HARD climbing!! roflmao! Did you ever climb in Boulder Canyon?? That’s where hubby did the most climbing in his youth! roflmao!

    I still say.. “All y’all are just CRAZY!” But, climbers already KNOW that! grin

    Saturday May 19, 2007 – 10:27am (CDT)

    Like

  8. Ian Bach
    June 6, 2007

    FROM KITTY – I know nothing about engines. I see a lot of me in those lines too, except that I can not fix anything mechanical…lol.

    Saturday May 19, 2007 – 02:04am (PDT)

    Like

  9. Ian Bach
    June 6, 2007

    FROM KITTY – Lol. Thanks Ian, but even if ya told me I would need ya to use the terms “thingamabob”, “doohicky”, and “whatchacallit”..hehe. I’m a climber, and I’m not crazy….my mother did drop me when I was little however. LMAO! I climbed sandstone once myself. I fell, but only 15 ft. from what the others estimated. The highest I have climbed without ropes is about 550ft. I’d love to climb higher without those ropes though. Somehow it feels like a much greater accomplishment. Dang! She might be right….I am crazy. Haha.

    Sunday May 20, 2007 – 01:49am (PDT)

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment here. Thanks

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2007 by in Uncategorized.
